At present, nearly 5 million Americans are following a gluten-free diet. While some are steering clear of anything that contains gluten due to personal preference, others are necessitated to make adjustments to their diets due to health conditions such as gluten sensitivity and intolerance, and Celiac disease. While the food options for anyone on a special diet used to be extremely limited, the offerings have increased significantly over recent years, with gluten-free products bringing much-needed variety to a potentially mundane diet. Hemp is one such food item that can be incorporated into a gluten-free diet with relative ease.
Hemp is easy on the digestive system
Hemp is the perfect addition to a gluten-free diet, as it is not only free of gluten, but also boasts a range of other significant health benefits. In itself, hemp is a superb source of essential fatty acids, Vitamin E, calcium, iron, fiber and magnesium. Research also indicates that hemp may relieve the symptoms associated with a number of digestive concerns, such as irritable bowel syndrome, Crohn's disease, and ulcerative colitis. It is often these symptoms that are the driving force behind switching to a gluten-free diet in the first place.
The possibilities are endless
There is a large variety of quality hemp products available on the market that can be included in a delicious and varied gluten-free diet. Hulled hemp seeds have a lovely nutty taste, and can be added to salads, hot gluten-free cereal, yogurt and smoothies. Hemp flour is delicious and versatile, and also a great source of energy. It can be used to bake everything from bread and pizza to cake and muffins. If you can get your hands on hemp cake, you can also mill your own hemp flour at home. You will do it in the same way another gluten-free favorite, rice flour, can be made at home: by using a mortar and pestle if you don’t have access to a food processor or coffee grinder. Other popular hemp products include hemp coffee and hemp protein powder.
Other restricted diets can also benefit from hemp
While hemp can be a great addition to a gluten-free diet, it can also be successfully incorporated into a number of other restricted diets too. As hemp is 100% plant-derived, it can be consumed by vegans and vegetarians alike. Hemp products can also be used by individuals with lactose sensitivities and allergies, as well as those with nut allergies. The only exception is if a person is specifically allergic to hemp seeds. Hemp hearts, hemp protein powder, and hemp oil are all considered to be Paleo superfoods that can be of great benefit to anyone following a diet that promotes the consumption of whole foods.
Hemp products are the perfect addition to many restrictive diets. Apart from being completely free of many common allergens such as gluten, it also contains various potent nutrients that contribute to improved overall health and wellbeing.